Fiberside Chats From Longmont Yarn Shoppe
Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

303-678-8242

454 Main St., Longmont, CO 80501

View Cart
        


Drop-in, Appointment & Phone Hours
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday-Thursday 11- 4 pm
Friday: 11- 6 pm
Saturday: 11- 4 pm
Sunday 12- 4 pm
View Holiday Hours

Longmont Yarn Shoppe Presents: Fiberside Chats



Join Live Online Chats with Some of Fiber's Most Exciting Creators

We’ve invited some of your favorite designers and creators to join us for a series of online gatherings with Longmont Yarn Shoppe: Fiberside Chats!

Launched in May, these gatherings, hosted on Zoom, are one-hour sessions with special guests joining us to give a peek into their world. These designers and creators will discuss their unique path, creative processes, latest projects—or whatever is inspiring them now. There will also be a Q&A session, giveaways, and other fun surprises for those who join!

Fiberside Chats costs $20 to register. You can choose any of our participating yarn shops to assign your registration fee to.
 
1) Pick your yarn store host
2) Choose how many spots you are reserving
3) Check out

Here's what one of our participants had to say:
"Fiberside has made the pandemic tenable! I am getting to meet people I would never ever have a chance to meet, because I couldn’t afford to travel that much. Accessibility!" - Karla D.

Special Guests Include:

Norah Gaughan

Norah Gaughan
Feb. 28, 2021

Norah will walk us through her newest book, Norah Gaughan's Twisted Stitch Sourcebook filled with beautiful images of the stitches and garments, while she explains the many ways to use the book, no matter your skill level. As a bonus we'll see photos from Norah's first issue of Vogue Knitting as editor in Chief. We think you'll be thrilled with the expanded size range and relaxed photography.

This is a live one time Zoom Event on Sunday, February 28th at 5:00pm Eastern, 4:00pm Central, 3:00pm Mountain, 2:00pm Pacific.

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event. Check your spam filter if you do not see it.


Learn More >


Sarah Solomon March 7th
March 7, 2021

Sarah Solomon started knitting as an adult fueled by a passion to knit sweaters. A self-styled “sweater evangelist” she now works to bring more knitters into the sweater-knitting fold through her patterns and teaching. With a background in woven construction and dressmaking, Sarah brings a love of details and fine finishing to her hand knitting designs and enjoys creating and teaching techniques that are simple to master but yield beautiful, long-lasting results. One of her favorite techniques to share is a double-knit button band with self-reinforced buttonholes that lend a refined look and long life to a hand-knit cardigan. Sarah will demonstrate the basics of the technique and show samples that make use of it. She’ll also present an overview of her work to illustrate her approach to designing knitwear that combines elements of fashion, textile and applied design.

This is a live one time Zoom Event on Sunday, March 7th at 6:00pm Eastern, 5:00pm Central, 4:00pm Mountain, 3:00pm Pacific.

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event. Check your spam filter if you do not see it.


Learn More >


Mr. Knitbear and Dendennis
Mar. 14, 2021

Knitting socks has been popular for a while, but we were missing a certain style, something more humorous and cheerful, something unique. Not just socks with Fair Isle patterns. We wanted socks that we’d wear for evenings on the sofa at home but also socks for special occasions, business appointments, teaching in class and nights out on the town. We rose to the challenge to design socks that will inspire others to start knitting too, and to show that you can create very cheerful and striking patterns with Fair Isle knitting, from flamingos to skulls and from avocados to geometric patterns. In addition to showing our unique and fun socks, we will demonstrate how to knit a turned stitch, which you’ll need for the boomerang heel and how we knit with two colors in a row. Hopefully we’ll manage to inspire and motivate you to start on the great adventure of knitting socks!

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, March 14th at 3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1:00pm Mountain, 12:00pm Pacific.

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event. Check your spam filter if you do not see it.


Learn More >


Holli Yeoh
Mar. 21, 2021

Join Holli Yeoh for a chat on tackling the intricacies of intarsia to add blocks and motifs of colour to your knitting. You’ll learn all the basics including joining colours, avoiding holes, managing all those ends and tangles, reading graphs, and tension issues. She’ll show you how duplicate stitch can be used to fix mistakes, draw outlines, and add even more colour, after the project is done. Holli breaks down the techniques into simple relatable ideas and actions, taking the fear out of trying something new.

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, March 21st at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific.

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event. Check your spam filter if you do not see it.


Learn More >

Fees & Registration

Each meet-up will have a $20 registration fee, with proceeds supporting our special guests and other participating LYS’s (Local Yarn Shops).  We are inviting other yarn shops to join us- watch for your favorite or have them reach out to us!

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event.  
Check your spam filter if you do not see it.

Or call Longmont Yarn Shoppe at 303-678-8242


Now Available - Fiberside Chats Enamel Pins

If you love Fiberside Chats as much as we do you'll want your very own high quality enamel pin for your project bag or lapel. Includes a locking back so you never need to worry about losing your favorite pin!

Shop Now >

We Appreciate Your Support

Here at Longmont Yarn Shoppe we’ve been brainstorming strategies to weather the storm that the COVID-19 pandemic has struck upon us. The impact to the shop’s operations is extreme, & beyond our doors the ripple effect is extensive.

Temporarily gone are in-real-life trade shows, workshops and so many other ways we gather to support and celebrate our shared passion. From sheep farmers to our local indie dyers and creators of all things from patterns to accessories to yarn bowls, all are feeling the effect on their lives and livelihoods.    

In our search to keep LYS afloat and keep you, our customers engaged, we’ve explored new ways of doing things and learned other ways to reach out and connect. We appreciate your support during this trying time, and we can’t wait to see you in person at the shop some day soon! 


Collaborating Yarn Shops

Longmont, Colorado
Kansas City, Missouri
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Port Townsend, Washington
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Flagstaff, Arizona
Paige, Texas
Bay City, Michigan
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Bozeman, Montana

Billings, Montana
Northboro, Massachusetts
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Edmonton, Alberta
Duluth, Minnesota
Thomasville, Georgia
Austin, Texas
Fort Worth, Texas
Cashmere Goat - Camden, Maine