The Longest Day with Team ANN BUDD!!
Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

303-678-8242

454 Main St., Longmont, CO 80501

View Cart
        


Hours
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Wednesday 10- 5 pm
Thursday - Friday 10 - 6 pm
Saturday 10 - 5 (starting July 3rd) 
Sunday 12- 4 pm
View Holiday Hours

The Longest Day with Team ANN BUDD!!



Please join us on The Longest Day (Sunday, June 20) as Ann knits to raise awareness (and hopefully a whole lot of funds) for the Alzheimer’s Association. Each year the Alzheimer’s Association challenges individuals to help fight the disease by raising funds and awareness for care, support, and research on the day with the most light.

Ann will knit from sunrise (somewhere around 5:00 am) to sunset (somewhere around 9:00 pm) Mountain Standard Time on a project she designed specifically for this event.

The cable-and-eyelet pattern in my Fading Memories Socks represents the twists and turns in the memories of those afflicted with Alzheimer's, in a gradient colorway inspired by The Longest Day logo. 

For every Fading Memories Socks pattern sold, Ann will donate $5 to Alzheimer's research.
 

The yarn Ann used is Fading Shadows gradient kit of 5 mini skeins specially dyed by Greenwood Fiberworks. The yarn is 75% superwash merino and 25% nylon; there are 92 yards (20 grams) of each color for a total of 552 yards (120 grams). The gradient kits are available through Longmont Yarn Shoppe of Longmont, Colorado.


For every gradient pack of Fading Shadows sold, Longmont Yarn Shoppe will donate $10 to Alzheimer's.

On Sunday, June 20 (the longest day of 2021), Ann will knit another version of Fading Memories Socks and post my progress in hourly (or somewhat hourly) Instagram posts.



If you'd like to Knit-A-Long with Ann on the Longest Day, you can! To make this day more interactive, four Local (online) Yarn Shops have joined in to host a virtual zoom session with Ann. You can check in, give Ann a "way to go, thumbs up" emoji and hang out for an hour of chat and encouragement. All four sessions are free and will take place on Zoom. Please click on the links below to register for each session. And yes, there will be prizes and special offers. Perhaps a very special prize draw for those who join in all four KAL sessions.

  1. Start your Longest Day KAL at Four Purls of Winter Haven, Florida. This zoom session begins at 7:00 am PT, 8:00 am MT, 9:00 am CT, 10:00 am ET, 11:00 am AT.
  2. Keep knitting (or take a nap) and join River City Yarns of Edmonton, Alberta for a mid-day session starting at 11:00 am PT, 12:00 pm MT, 1:00 pm CT, 2:00 pm ET, 3:00 pm AT.
  3. And after a short break, join in with the Bazaar Girls Yarn Shop of Port Townsend, Washington. This session starts at 1:00 pm PT, 2:00 pm MT, 3:00 pm CT, 4:00 pm ET, 5:00 pm AT. To get into their Zoom Room use this code:  360-379-9273 (the shop phone number). Passcode: fiber
  4. We'll finish up our cross-country KAL with a visit at Longmont Yarn Shoppe of Longmont, Colorado. This session starts at 3:00 pm PT, 4:00 pm MT, 5:00 pm CT, 6:00 pm ET, 7:00 pm AT. 

And in any event, please visit Ann's fundraiser page and make a donation.  Thank you




Instructor: Ann Budd
Instructor Bio: Ann Budd is an author of more than a dozen ever popular knitting books, a devoted teacher who helps other develop their own approach to knitting and designing, and is the founder of Knit for Fun Retreats. Participants in Ann's classes always leave with great tips to add to their knitting tool kit!!
{{getPrice()}}
There is no charge to participate in this gathering. Register to be sent your zoom link for the gathering.

{{model.event.first_date}} - {{model.event.last_date}} {{model.event.sections.length}} Sessions {{model.event.sections[0].time}}
{{s.date}} {{s.time}}

Seats available {{model.remainingSeats()}}

{{errorMessage}}

{{waitlist_contact_errorMessage}}

Included Materials


{{c.items[0].title}}

{{c.errorMessage}}

This class cannot be purchased online. Please contact the store for more information.