The Longest Day with Team ANN BUDD!!
Skip Navigation Website Accessibility

303-678-8242

454 Main St., Longmont, CO 80501

View Cart
        


Hours
Monday - CLOSED
Tuesday - Thursday 10- 5 pm
Friday 10 - 6 pm
Saturday 10 - 5 
Sunday 12- 4 pm
View Holiday Hours

The Longest Day with Team ANN BUDD!!



On the longest day of the year, our dear friend Ann Budd, knits to raise awareness (and hopefully a whole lot of funds) for the Alzheimer’s Association. Each year the Alzheimer’s Association challenges individuals to help fight the disease by raising funds and awareness for care, support, and research on the day with the most light. This year is no exception!

On Sunday, June 19th, Ann will knit from sunrise (somewhere around 5:00 am) to sunset (somewhere around 9:00 pm) Mountain Daylight Time on a project she designed specifically for this event. We're joining Ann, along with four other fabulous yarn shops, to turn this day into a fun knit-a-long (KAL). We want you to come along too.

What we'll be working on for the KAL:

Ann has designed a brand new cowl pattern called the Fading Memories Cowl. When you purchase this pattern, Ann will donate $5 USD to Alzheimer's research.  A perfect yarn for this pattern is the 4 Skein Longest Day Gradient Set dyed by Theodora's Pearls in Longmont specifically for this project! For each kit sold LYS will donate 10.00 to team Ann Budd! 

"The stitch pattern consists of expanding cables separated by eyelet lace that represents convoluted memories and lost awareness. The dark-to-light gradient represents how those afflicted with Alzheimer’s become ghosts of their former selves."

There are prizes! Here at Longmont Yarn Shoppe we're supporting Ann by encouraging you to make a donation to her fundraising page. Also, anyone who donates $50 to Ann's team will get their name in a drawing for the cowl that she will knit during the event. If they donate $100, their name will be added twice, and so on.

Join us for the KAL! It's free to participate:

If you'd like to Knit-A-Long with Ann on the Longest Day, you can! To make this day more interactive, five Local (online) Yarn Shops have joined in to host a virtual zoom session with Ann. You can check in, give Ann a "way to go, thumbs up" emoji and hang out for an hour of chat and encouragement. All four sessions are free and will take place on Zoom. 

  1. Start your Longest Day KAL at Four Purls of Winter Haven, Florida. This zoom session begins at 6:00 am PDT, 7:00 am MDT, 8:00 am CDT, 9:00 am EDT, 10:00 am ADT and 10:30 am in NL.
  2. Our next stop will be at Hill Country Weavers. This Zoom session will be at 8:00 am PDT, 9:00 am MDT, 10:00 am CDT, 11:00 am EDT, 12:00 pm ADT and 12:30 pm in NL.
  3. We'll drop in on Ann again, courtesy of Longmont Yarn Shoppe of Longmont, Colorado. This zoom session will begin at 12:00 pm PDT, 1:00 pm MDT, 2:00 pm CDT, 3:00 pm EDT, 4:00 pm ADT and 4:30 pm in NL.
  4. Keep knitting and join River City Yarns of Edmonton, Alberta for an afternoon session starting at 2:00 pm PDT, 3:00 pm MDT, 4:00 pm CDT, 5:00 pm EDT, 6:00 pm ADT and 6:30 pm in NL.
  5. We'll finish up our cross-country KAL with a visit at the Bazaar Girls Yarn Shop of Port Townsend, Washington. This session starts at 4:00 pm PDT, 5:00 pm MDT, 6:00 pm CDT, 7:00 pm EDT, 8:00 pm ADT and 8:30 pm in NL. 

    Contact Dana at events@bazaargirls.com to register.

And in any event, please visit Ann's fundraiser page and make a donation.  Thank you!! 



Longmont Yarn Shoppe is one of 5 Local Yarn Shops supporting Ann in her mission.  If you'd like to Knit-A-Long with Ann on the Longest Day, you can! To make this day more interactive, the five Local (online) Yarn Shops have joined in to host a virtual zoom session with Ann. You can check in, give Ann a "way to go, thumbs up" emoji and hang out for an hour of chat and encouragement. All five sessions are free and will take place on Zoom.  And yes, there will be prizes and special offers. Perhaps a very special prize draw for those who join in all five KAL sessions. 

Stay tuned for the final schedule with links to the participating shops which will be posted below!

Please visit Ann's fundraiser page and make a donation.  Thank you




Instructor: Ann Budd
Instructor Bio: Ann Budd is an author of more than a dozen ever popular knitting books, a devoted teacher who helps other develop their own approach to knitting and designing, and is the founder of Knit for Fun Retreats. Participants in Ann's classes always leave with great tips to add to their knitting tool kit!!
{{getPrice()}}
There is no charge to participate in this gathering. Register to be sent your zoom link for the gathering.

{{model.event.first_date}} - {{model.event.last_date}} {{model.event.sections.length}} Sessions {{model.event.sections[0].time}}
{{s.date}} {{s.time}}

Seats available {{model.remainingSeats()}}

{{errorMessage}}

{{waitlist_contact_errorMessage}}

Included Materials


{{c.items[0].title}}

{{c.errorMessage}}

This class cannot be purchased online. Please contact the store for more information.