CLOSED Fiberside Chats: Mary Jane Mucklestone Oct 25th
Skip Navigation Website Accessibility
        
 

CLOSED Fiberside Chats: Mary Jane Mucklestone Oct 25th

Spend an hour with Mary Jane as she tells the story of making her new book Fair Isle Weekend.

 In the book she invites you to join her on a trip to Fair Isle, a remote, windswept island in Shetland, famous for its traditional colorwork knitting. Mary Jane has been fascinated and inspired by the island's rich textile traditions, learning about Fair Isle knitting by looking at old textiles and sharing stories and knowledge with local knitters over cups of tea.

Learn about traditional Fair Isle knitting and what makes it different than other stranded knitting traditions from around the world, and how knitting from Fair Isle differs from  stranded knitting in rest of Shetland.

See beautiful examples of various motifs in Mary Jane’s stacks and stacks of swatches, and how she uses them as sketches for future designs. She will explain how the patterns in her book were developed, getting a glimpse into her design process.

Watch Mary Jane demonstrate how she holds two strands of yarn, and how a Shetland knitting belt is used, although she admits she’s not very good at it. She believes there isn’t one way of doing things, and encourages knitters to find what works for them. Experimenting is half the fun!

So grab a cup of tea and some needles and yarn if you like, and join us!

Bio: 
Mary Jane Mucklestone is a knitwear designer, teacher and author who has specialized in Fair Isle knitting, also called stranded knitting. Her work has been featured in publications like Vogue Knitting, Interweave Knits and various books. Mary Jane has a varied background in art and textiles earning a BFA in Printmaking from Pratt Institute, studying fashion at Parsons School of Design and Textiles and Historic Costume at the University of Washington. Mary Jane is happy to announce the release of her fifth book, Fair Isle Weekend due out November 6 and available for pre-order from local yarn shops or directly from the publisher, Lainemagazine.com. Find more about Mary Jane at MaryJaneMucklestone.com.  

Check first with your LYS to purchase Fair Isle Weekend.  We offer it through Longmont Yarn Shoppe.  You can pre-order it here.

This is a one time live Zoom event on Sunday October 25th: 3:00PM Eastern, 2:00PM Central, 1:00PM Mountain, 12:00PM Pacific